1. Careers
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

MCTS Certification - Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist


MCTS - Microsoft Certifications:

Microsoft has recently revamped their certificates programs to be more targeted and much more specific. Their Certifications Overview provides a mapping of how the different certifications fit together. In addition, the newer Microsoft Certifications have lifecycle policies that are new to the Microsoft Certification program. These policies were put in place to ensure that Microsoft Certifications remain up-to-date on relevant Microsoft technologies.

MCTS - Training:

Training for the Microsoft Certifications can be accomplished in a classroom or via distance or e-learning programs. More information about the official Microsoft training programs can be found on the company's training overview pages.

Specific MCTS Certifications:

As of this writing, there are 19 Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist (MCTS) certifications, including the newer Office Project 2007 certification family. Expect more specialties to become available as Microsoft introduces new technologies. The current 19 MCTS certifications are:
  • Managing Projects with Microsoft Office Project 2007
  • Enterprise Project Management with Microsoft Office Project Server 2007
  • .NET Framework 2.0 Web Applications
  • .NET Framework 2.0 Windows Applications
  • .NET Framework 2.0 Distributed Applications
  • SQL Server 2005
  • SQL Server 2005 Business Intelligence
  • BizTalk Server 2006
  • Microsoft Office Live Communications Server 2005
  • Microsoft Exchange Server 2007, Configuration
  • Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007, Configuration
  • Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007, Application Development
  • Windows Mobile 5.0, Applications
  • Windows Mobile 5.0, Implementing and Managing
  • Windows Server 2003 Hosted Environments, Configuration, and Management
  • Windows SharePoint Services 3.0, Application Development
  • Windows SharePoint Services 3.0, Configuration
  • Windows Vista and 2007 Microsoft Office System Desktops, Deploying and Maintaining
  • Windows Vista, Configuration

Links to more information about each specific technology specialty can be found on the Microsoft Learning Portal.

  1. About.com
  2. Careers
  3. Tech Careers
  4. Education and Training
  5. MCTS - Certification MCTS - Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.