1. Careers
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Microsoft Certifications


A comprehensive resource of Microsoft certification information. Includes detailed information about the current Microsoft certifications. Learn what each Microsoft certification stands for. Includes links to Microsoft certifications courses and practice exams.

1. Microsoft MCITP

The Microsoft Certified IT Professional (MCITP) credential shows that you have current skills and proven job-role capabilities to work effectively with a comprehensive set of Microsoft technologies.

There are currently 7 sub-specialties within the MCITP certification. Of these, the MCITP Enterprise and MCITP Database are among the highest paying technical certifications.

2. Microsoft MCPD

The Microsoft Certified Professional Developer (MCPD) credential highlights distinguishes the holder as an expert in Windows development, Web application development, or enterprise applications development, which are the three MCPD Paths.

3. Microsoft MCTS

The MCTS - Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist - is a popular certification with many sub-specialties. As of this writing, there are 19 Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist (MCTS) certifications, including the newer Office Project 2007 certification family. Expect more specialties to become available as Microsoft introduces new technologies.

4. Microsoft MCSD

The MCSD (Microsoft Certified Solution Developer) is a top level Microsoft .NET credential. It is a very popular development certification, and is among the highest paying technical certifications.

5. Microsoft MCA

The MCA - Microsoft Certified Architect - is a very senior level Microsoft certification. Obtaining the elite MCA certification sets you apart from your peers as an expert that can deliver high quality Microsoft based solutions to clients with complex business and technical requirements. While the certification doesn't rank on the list of highest paying in the tech industry, I suspect that is only because there are not as many MCAs available to respond to surveys. Microsoft reports that MCAs see their hourly bill rate increase dramatically, sometimes by as much as 33%.

6. Microsoft MCAD

The Microsoft MCAD certification (Microsoft Certified Application Developer) is intented to provide recognition for developers who build applications using Microsoft Visual Studio .NET and Web services. It is among the highest paying technical certifications and is in high demand by employers.

7. Microsoft MCSA

The MCSA - Microsoft Certified System Administrator - is designed to make sure you have the skills to effectively manage and troubleshoot systems running on the Microsoft Windows operating system.

8. Microsoft MCSE

The Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer (MCSE) certification is designed to showcase your expertise in designing and implementing the infrastructure for business solutions based on the Microsoft Windows 2000 platform and Windows Server Systems.

9. Microsoft MCDBA

The MCDBA (Microsoft certified Database Administrator) is designed to make sure you have the skills to lead organizations in the successful design, implementation, and administration of Microsoft SQL Server 2000 databases. It is among the highest paying technical certifications in the job market.

10. Microsoft MCDST

The Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Technician (MCDST) is an entry-level Microsoft certification. If you are looking for a way to get into the IT industry or to supplement your skills and education, the MCDST is a great certification to start with.

11. Microsoft MOS

The MOS (Microsoft Office Specialist) certification program certifies a level of expertise with Microsoft Office desktop programs, including Microsoft Office Word, Microsoft Office Excel, Microsoft Office Outlook, Microsoft Office PowerPoint, Microsoft Office Access and Microsoft Office Project.
Related Video
Hide Info in Microsoft Excel

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.